Yummy Carmelized Brussel Sprouts

Before I share with you this delicious side dish, I first would like to say that I LOVE Pinterest. Big, big Pinterest fan here. In fact, I was going through some of my craft pins on Saturday showing my husband how stinking creative some people are, and expressing my admiration, and disbelief that there are people who are so creative out there, and raving about how awesome Pinterest is. His reaction,”I’m so glad you like it honey.” Though even he thought some of the things I showed him were creative.

Do I waste spend hours pinning things? Yes. And then feel accomplished, like I actually spent my time worthwhile? Major Yes. (Silly I know.) Do I actually use what I pin? It depends, on what we are talking about. Some things yes, other things, not as much. But please feel free to follow me, my username is: SnickerPlumShop or you can just search for Lynzi Rasmussen.

But back to this delicious side dish.

Growing up, my parents grew Brussel Sprouts in the garden, and they were just… okay, I would eat them, like the broccoli, zucchini, or corn that was pushed at me, but I didn’t really ever enjoy any of the above. Introduce Pinterest. I found a recipe similar to the one I am going to share with you today except it wasn’t as amped up as this is! My brother-in-law, who is a self-proclaimed veggie hater, actually liked them, to his surprise! So that is big news there! :)

Carmelized Brussel Sprouts with Bacon and Pecans

1 lb of Brussel Sprouts washed, outer leaves cleaned off, and halved

4 slices bacon, cut into little strips, or lardons

1/4 c brown sugar

1/4 c whole pecans, crumbled

1. Cook bacon in a large pan on medium-low heat. Remove from pan just when it is starting to get crisp, let drain on paper towel. Add the prepared Brussel sprouts to the pan and cook until they begin crisp or darken, about 5-10 minutes.

2. Then sprinkle on the brown sugar and mix well to fully cover all the of the Brussel sprouts. Then add in the bacon and pecans and toss to fully coat them as well. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes and serve warm. Enjoy!

These are super easy, and super yummy. Sadly we did not have any leftovers for the next day, they were that good!

I hope that you enjoy them as much as we did!

From my Family to yours…

What do you think?

