Salmon for Dinner

Growing up we always had some kind of fish in our house that we were eating, my dad being a fisherman and all, and there was even some trips that I went out on with him in the last few years and caught some of my own fish.

What can I say, you don’t wear a dress and heels fishing. Theres actually a pretty funny story behind this picture that I won’t go into right now, because I’m assuming most of you reading this won’t understand the “fishing” humor, but if you would like to know the story, leave a comment and I will definitely explain. It was actually quite a shock for my dad when I married my hubby who has no, I repeat N-O boat or fishing time. My father has decided now that we need to fix that, preferably as soon as possible.

But back onto the topic of fish! Did you know that fish are extremely healthy for you, because they have lots of vitamins and minerals and they have high levels of the omega-3 fatty acids; which help combat high-blood cholesterol levels and also aid in prevent heart-disease

Well this is a recipe adapted from my father, and what I always grew up eating. It is delicious!

Cooked Salmon and Mixed Green and Gorgonzola Salad*

*I will share both the homemade vinaigrette and toasted Garlic Bread another time.

Salmon

Measurements in this recipe are dependant upon taste and size of fillet.

1 fillet of Salmon, cut into a meal-sized portion

1/2 to 1 tsp Lemon Pepper

1/2 to 1-1/2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 to 1-1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil Mayonnaise, Miracle Whip, or Dijon Mustard, optional (They all keep it moist, while Miracle Whip and Dijon Mustard both add a little tang.)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with tinfoil. Place the salmon skin side down on the tinfoil, and blot off any excess moisture with a paper towel.

2. Add on the Lemon Pepper and Olive Oil. Then spread on the Mayonnaise, Miracle Whip or Dijon Mustard, if using.

3. Place in a preheated oven only, and cook 17 minutes for every inch of thickness, until the thickest section if fully cooked; meaning that the fish is no longer opaque, but a solid color.

Mixed Green and Gorgonzola Salad

Mixed Baby Greens

1/2 c Gorgonzola Cheese, crumbled

1/2 c Craisins

1/2 c Whole or Sliced Almonds, toasted (toasting is optional)

Homemade vinaigrette

1. Toss greens with vinaigrette. Then sprinkle on the cheese, craisins, and almonds. Serve and enjoy!

 

These are both delicious recipes! We hope that you enjoy them as much as we do!

Plums are Purple, and Snickers are Sweet,

From my family to yours…

2 thoughts on “Salmon for Dinner

What do you think?

